Notion AI

Sales, productivity & workflow AI · https://www.notion.com/product/ai

Verdict: Buy · Confidence: medium · Reviewed 2026-10-15

Notion AI is a product of Notion, not a separate company. Notion told CNBC it had passed $500 million in annualized revenue as AI features spread; buyers depend on Notion's bundle and on outside models.

Rubric

DimensionScore (1–5)Notes & sources
Real customers & revenue quality
Are there named paying customers, recurring revenue, and retention evidence?
4/5
Notion told CNBC (Sept. 18, 2025) that it had reached $500 million in annualized revenue. That figure is for Notion, not a Notion AI line item. Co-founder Akshay Kothari told CNBC that the share of customers paying for AI add-ons moved from 10–20% to over 50%, after which AI was included in business and enterprise plans. Named corporate clients in that article include Kaiser Permanente, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Nvidia, and Volvo Cars. Notion's AI-only revenue was not disclosed.
Unit economics
Do gross margins survive inference/compute costs? Is pricing durable?
UnknownUnknown. Notion has not disclosed gross margin or inference cost for Notion AI. CNBC reported the company was still talking with clients about pricing for custom agents.
Moat
Proprietary data, distribution, switching costs, or tech that is hard to copy?
4/5
Notion told CNBC it has over 100 million users and about 1,000 employees, and that about 90% of the business is multiplayer team usage. The AI features ride that installed base. Switching costs are the workspace, not a proprietary model.
Platform risk
Could a model provider or incumbent ship this as a feature? (higher score = lower risk)
2/5
Notion AI is bundled into Notion. CNBC reported the agent uses models from OpenAI and Anthropic, and that Microsoft and Google sell competing workspace AI. Price and model choice sit with Notion and those providers.
Team & execution
Shipping cadence, leadership track record, stability.
4/5
Notion shipped Custom Agents on Feb. 24, 2026, and said usage-based Notion credits for those agents would start May 4, 2026. CNBC's 2025 piece still quotes founders Ivan Zhao and Akshay Kothari.
Funding vs. traction
Is capital raised justified by verifiable traction?
4/5
CNBC reported Notion's last outside round was $275 million at a $10 billion valuation in October 2021, and that Kothari said the company has more cash than the $330 million raised to date. The later company-stated $500 million annualized revenue is real traction against that older valuation; no newer company-stated valuation is used here.
Hype signals
Demo-driven marketing, vague metrics, valuation outrunning evidence? (higher score = fewer red flags)
3/5
Revenue and AI-attach figures are what Notion told CNBC, not a filing. AI-only revenue is still undisclosed, and the product is easy to confuse with the whole company's $500 million. Notion's own release notes are product marketing, including customer quotes.

Listing source: https://www.notion.com/product/ai. Revenue, users, and valuation figures appear only when publicly sourced; otherwise they are marked unknown.