Crusoe
Compute & inference infrastructure · https://www.crusoe.ai
Verdict: Hold · Confidence: medium · Reviewed 2026-10-15
Crusoe builds energy-backed data centers and Crusoe Cloud. On September 17, 2026 the company said it held an initial close of a $3.9 billion Series F at a $30.9 billion post-money valuation and that total contracted value exceeded $140 billion. It also said more than 1 GW is operational, gross contracted capacity exceeds 6 GW, and Crusoe Managed Inference has contracted over $100 million of ARR. Recognized revenue and gross margin were not disclosed. Reuters confirmed the round size and valuation.
Rubric
| Dimension | Score (1–5) | Notes & sources |
|---|---|---|
| Real customers & revenue quality Are there named paying customers, recurring revenue, and retention evidence? | 4/5 | Per Crusoe, Managed Inference has contracted over $100 million of ARR, and Crusoe Cloud bookings grew more than 20x year over year year-to-date. Named cloud customers include Cognition, Figure, and Perplexity. The company says OpenAI trained Astra at the Abilene campus Crusoe designed. The $140 billion figure is total contracted value, not revenue.
|
| Unit economics Do gross margins survive inference/compute costs? Is pricing durable? | Unknown | Unknown — no public figure found. |
| Moat Proprietary data, distribution, switching costs, or tech that is hard to copy? | 4/5 | Per Crusoe, the company originates power, builds modular data centers, and operates the cloud, with 1 GW delivered and more than 6 GW contracted. Vertical control of power and sites is harder to copy than reselling GPUs. Contracted value still has to be built and billed.
|
| Platform risk Could a model provider or incumbent ship this as a feature? (higher score = lower risk) | 3/5 | Crusoe is infrastructure, not a model wrapper. Hyperscalers and other neoclouds buy the same Nvidia and AMD systems. The energy position is the differentiator the company emphasizes.
|
| Team & execution Shipping cadence, leadership track record, stability. | 4/5 | Chase Lochmiller is quoted as co-founder and CEO. The company previously announced a $1.375 billion Series E at a valuation above $10 billion on October 24, 2025, and then the larger Series F. It says 1 GW is already operational.
|
| Funding vs. traction Is capital raised justified by verifiable traction? | 2/5 | A $30.9 billion post-money valuation and a $3.9 billion raise, per the company and Reuters, sit on $140 billion of company-stated contracted value and $100 million of contracted inference ARR. Recognized revenue was not disclosed, so the valuation cannot be checked against sales.
|
| Hype signals Demo-driven marketing, vague metrics, valuation outrunning evidence? (higher score = fewer red flags) | 2/5 | The $140 billion contracted-value headline is much larger than the disclosed $100 million inference ARR. Without recognized revenue, the round is ahead of verifiable sales.
|
Listing source: https://www.crusoe.ai. Revenue, users, and valuation figures appear only when publicly sourced; otherwise they are marked unknown.